ECHL Unveils 20th Anniversary Logo

ECHL unveiled the official logo for its 20th Anniversary Season in 2006-07,
making it the third-longest tenured professional hockey league in

North America behind only the National Hockey League and
the American Hockey League.

The logo has XX, which is the Roman numeral for 20, in navy blue trimmed in
red, white and silver above the traditional ECHL logo flanked on the left side
by 1988 and on the right side by 2008 with “Building Tradition” centered below
the logo.

The 20th Anniversary logo will be incorporated into league and team materials
as the ECHL proudly celebrates 20 years of hockey, tradition and affordable

The Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League began in 1988-89 with five teams in three states
and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league that will have 25 teams in 17
states and

British Columbia
in 2007-08. The 25 teams includes the Mississippi (Biloxi) Sea Wolves, who
return after missing two seasons in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, and the
expansion Elmira (N.Y.) Jackals.

Joe Bosack, president and founder of The Joe Bosack Graphic Design Company,
designed the logo. Bosack also designed the ECHL logo, the Kelly Cup Playoffs
logo, the 15th Anniversary logo and logos for the ECHL All-Star Game.

The Joe Bosack Design Company is a full-service design studio that specializes
in branded identity. In addition to its work with the ECHL, Bosack has created
identities, both directly and indirectly, for The National Basketball
Association, The National Hockey League, The National Football League, Major
League Baseball, Nike Team Sports, The Arena Football League, WNBA, Coca-Cola,
Fila U.S.A., and Universal Studios in addition to dozens of individual teams
and universities.


The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in three states and has grown to be a
coast-to-coast league that will have 25 teams playing in 17 states and

British Columbia in 2007-08, including the

Mississippi (

Sea Wolves, who return after missing two seasons in the aftermath of Hurricane

Opening Day for the 20th Anniversary Season will be Oct. 18 when the Johnstown
Chiefs host the Wheeling Nailers at Cambria County War Memorial. The game is a
rematch of Game 7 from the first-ever ECHL Finals played in front of a
standing-room-only crowd at Cambria County War Memorial. The two teams will
wear throwback jerseys for the Opening Day game that begins at 7:30 p.m. ET and
will be broadcast worldwide on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast
Provider of the ECHL”. The remaining teams will open their seasons the weekend
of Oct. 19-21.

There have been 329 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL
after playing in the ECHL, including a record 47 in 2005-06 and 26 in 2006-07.
There have been 184 former ECHL players who have played their first game in the
NHL in the past five seasons and 107 former ECHL players have skated in the NHL
this season. More than 100 players under contract to NHL teams have played in
the ECHL this season.

The ECHL is represented for the seventh consecutive year on the National Hockey
League championship team in 2007 with Anaheim assistant coach Dave Farrish,
players Francois Beauchemin and George Parros and broadcasters John Ahlers and
Steve Carroll.

The ECHL has affiliations with 24 of the 27 teams in the American Hockey League
in 2006-07 and for the past 17 years there has been an ECHL player on the
Calder Cup champion.

In each of the last two seasons there have been more than 225 players who have
played in both the ECHL and the AHL and there were over 800 call-ups involving
more than 500 players.

In the last five seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all
other professional leagues combined with over 2,000 call-ups involving more
than 1,000 players since 2002-03.

2008 ECHL All-Star Game and Skills Competition will be hosted by Stockton
Thunder, City of

and Stockton Arena on Jan. 22-23, 2008.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters