SVG Opens Call for Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame Nominees; adds new Technical Craft category

The Sports Video Group is seeking nominees for the second class of the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame and will also add a new category to this year’s ceremony to be held on Dec. 16, 2008 at the New York Hilton Hotel. A Technical Craft category has been added to honor those who have contributed to sports broadcasting via excellence in camera, audio, editing, graphics, and other craft-related operations. To learn more about the inaugural class, including watching videos of the ceremony, click here.

“It’s exciting to once again begin the process of gathering potential nominees for this year’s class,” says Ken Kerschbaumer, SVG Editorial Director. “The technical craft category is an important addition as it helps the Hall of Fame continue to meet its mission to honor those from the entire spectrum of professionals who have made sports broadcasting what it is today.”

Potential nominees must have demonstrated a clear and specific contribution to enhancing the sports broadcasting industry either behind or in front of the camera. Inductees will be selected via two rounds of voting by the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame committee this summer.

Below is a list of the current nominees for this year’s class. To add a new nominee please email the name and a brief 100-word bio or description of the nominee’s contribution to the sports broadcasting industry to Ken Kerschbaumer at

Deadline for submissions is June 16, 2008.

Dick Bailey
Scotty Connal
Chuck Howard
Jonathan Leess
Carl Lindemann
Bill McPhail
Manolo Romero
Chet Simmons
Jim Spence
Arthur Watson

Marv Albert
Mel Allen
Red Barber
Jack Buck
Donna De Verona
Dick Enberg
John Facenda
Marty Glickman
Curt Gowdy
Keith Jackson
Dan Kelly
John Madden
Al Michaels
Bob Murphy
Lindsay Nelson
Bud Palmer
Jay Randolph
Chris Schenkel
Vin Scully
Pat Summerall

Marvin Bader
Bob Braunlich
Joe Debonis
Bill Freiberger
Werner “Wink” Gunther
Mike Hoover
Bob Keys
Steve Laxton
Chris Liberty
Jim Malone
Randy Patrick
John Porter
Mac Privette
Bob Riger
John Roche
Bob Seidenglanz
Bob Siederman
Hal Somers
Jack Weir

Joe Aceti
Chet Forte
Sandy Grossman
Andy Kindle
Ric Lacivita
Klaus Landsburg, Sr.
Jim Lynch
Teddy Nathanson
Andy Sidaris
Bob Stenner
Tony Verna


Deane Beaman
Gary Bettman
Mark Cuban
Al Davis
Bill France, Jr.
Val Pinchback
George Steinbrenner
David Stern
Peter Ueberroth

Matthew Allwork
Del Bothof
Garret Brown
Leonard Chapman
Jay Cheyney
Gary Childs
Steve DiFrance
Charles Ginsburg
Clair Higgins
George Hoover
Peter Larsson
Peter L’Hoest
Bill McKechney
Everett Shilts
Lou Siracusano
Charlie Steinberg
Robert Wold

Ken Woo

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters