NAB Is Accepting Nominations for 2011 Engineering Achievement Awards

By Michael Silbergleid

The following has been issued buy the NAB:

NAB is currently accepting nominations for the 2011 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards. Established in 1959, the NAB Engineering Achievement Award is presented each year to an individual for their outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. In 1991, NAB began giving awards separately for achievements in radio and television. The award winners will be recognized at the Technology Luncheon at NAB 2011 on April 13 in Las Vegas, Nev.

Candidates for the Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards must be or have been an owner, officer or employee of any company, subsidiary or division whose primary business is broadcasting, or directly supports broadcasting, including employees of the Federal government directly engaged in broadcast engineering work.

The size of the organization with which each candidate is affiliated is not a determining factor. The merits of the contributions to broadcast engineering are the sole factors that will be taken into account.

The candidates for the two Engineering Achievement Awards will be evaluated on the basis of a single significant contribution or multiple contributions made over a period of time that, taken together, have significantly advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering.

The candidates shall have made contributions in the following categories:

  • Inventions
  • Development of new techniques
  • Dissemination of technical knowledge and literature
  • Leadership in broadcast engineering affairs
  • An outstanding contribution which, in the opinion of the NAB Executive Committee, warrants consideration. The period of time encompassed by the engineering contributions of the candidates for the awards should be reasonable. The NAB Executive Committee will select the award winners. The Committee will emphasize the more recent achievements of the nomineesThe nomination form is available on NAB’s Web page at
    The deadline for nominations is January 21, 2011.
  • Password must contain the following:

    A lowercase letter

    A capital (uppercase) letter

    A number

    Minimum 8 characters