Sennheiser Receives Engineering Emmy’s Philo T. Farnsworth Award

Sennheiser, whose shotgun and wireless microphones are ubiquitous in sports-broadcast audio, walked off with the Philo T. Farnsworth Award at the 65th Primetime Emmy Engineering Awards in Hollywood. Named after the inventor of electronic television, the award honors an agency, company, or institution whose contributions over time have significantly impacted television technology and engineering.

Daniel Sennheiser and Dr. Andreas Sennheiser accepted the Emmy statuette “on behalf of the passionate Sennheiser staff that helped to create innovative audio products and have provided impeccable customer service in the fields of TV and broadcasting.”

Frank Morrone, governor of the sound branch at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and himself an Emmy Award-winning broadcast-audio engineer, congratulated Sennheiser: “I am excited that the Television Academy has chosen to recognize Sennheiser as a leader in developing products that have contributed to advancing the way television is created and produced.”

Other pro-audio companies also picked up awards. An Engineering Emmy went to iZotope’s RX Audio Repair Technology, and two Engineering Plaques were awarded to Lawo AG for its audio-networking and -routing system and Final Draft Screenwriting Software.

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the award recipients on Sept. 25. The awards ceremony took place on Oct. 23.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters