Aspera Receives 2014 East Bay Innovation Award

Aspera, an IBM Company and creators of next-generation software technologies that move the world’s data at maximum speed, announced that it has received the 2014 East Bay Innovation Award for best innovation in Information and Communication Technology in recognition of its outstanding contribution to the region and significant advances in technology.

Once a year the East Bay Economic Development Alliance (East Bay EDA) in partnership with the San Francisco Business Times presents the annual East Bay Innovation Awards to cutting-edge businesses that are making the East Bay one of the preeminent regions of innovation in the U.S.

Aspera’s patented high-speed data transfer solutions have helped organizations in the region and across the world operate and collaborate more effectively on a global scale, fostering innovation and enabling new business models. In less than 10 years, the company has successfully grown from the two founders to over 160 employees with offices worldwide. Now part of the IBM Software Group, Aspera will retain its name and East Bay headquarters and continue to grow and deliver breakthrough products and solutions, backed by their world-class services and support teams.

Other companies receiving recognition included Kaiser Permanente, Youth Radio, Boehringer Ingleheim, Soraa, Techbridge, Meyer Sound, Back to the Roots, Children’s Hospital & Research Center Oakland.

“These companies and organizations are models in the region for others who want to create jobs and grow the East Bay economy,” says Keith Carson, chairman of the East Bay EDA Board of Directors and Alameda County Supervisor. “The East Bay EDA is proud to play a role in highlighting their work.”

“We are tremendously honored to have received this award,” says Michelle Munson, Aspera CEO and co-founder. “Aspera was founded in Berkeley, our first employee was a graduate of the University of California, and we will continue to draw on the talent, resources, and support in the East Bay to create fundamental solutions that advance all aspects of digital data movement.”

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters