Clemson University’s Rick Bagby Named 2018 Recipient of SVG College Pioneer Award

In more than two decades in the business, Bagby has brought innovation to college sports

The Sports Video Group announces that Rick Bagby, assistant athletic director, video and technology, Clemson University, will be honored with the 2018 SVG College Pioneer Award.

He will be celebrated at this year’s SVG College Summit at the Omni Hotel at CNN Center in Atlanta on May 31.

The SVG College Pioneer Award celebrates those who have innovated in the fields of video production and technology at the university level and have advanced the industry at large.

Bagby is in his 20th year overseeing the Athletic Video Services Department for Clemson University. He runs all live video streaming and live videoboard productions of athletic events at the university and has been one of the college-sports-video industry’s leading figures in technology innovation.

“Rick’s career has been marked by his taking the kind of risks that pioneers are known for,” says Ken Kerschbaumer, co-executive director, editorial services, SVG. “He embraced tapeless workflows via the Panasonic P2 format and worked tirelessly to promote the benefits of leaving tape behind when it was still a difficult and expensive endeavor. In today’s digital age, it’s hard to remember those early days when the industry needed believers, and pioneers, like Rick.”

Bagby has embraced many different roles and responsibilities throughout his career. On construction projects at Memorial Stadium, Doug Kingsmore Stadium, Riggs Field, and Littlejohn Coliseum, he pushed the envelope in videoboard and control-room design. He has also used technology to improve the fan experience and student-athlete experience.

“Throughout his career,” says Brandon Costa, director, SVG College, Sports Video Group, “Bagby has proved himself more than capable of not only evolving to dramatic change but leading the way during those times of change. He is the truest example of a great pioneer.”

In 2019, Bagby’s role will continue to evolve with the launch of the ACC Network. He currently oversees a multimillion-dollar three-phase renovation and equipment upgrade of his campus and has played a key role in helping athletic departments across the conference prepare for new technological requirements and responsibilities to come.

Once the network is launched, Bagby and his staff will be responsible for producing a minimum of 13 live broadcasts of Clemson sports events for the linear-TV network from the Jervey Athletic Center control rooms.

Currently, Bagby oversees four full-time staff members and works with and trains more than 20 students per year. His department is also responsible for many other video projects for every Clemson sports team. Highlight videos, recruiting videos, content meant to engage the fans on stadium videoboards, and content distributed to local and national news media are only a part of the Athletic Video Services Department’s output.

Bagby began his career when he was a student at the University of North Carolina, working all four years as a videographer for the football team. After graduating, he returned to the UNC football team as a video assistant in 1996. After one season there, he became an assistant video coordinator with the University of Wisconsin football team in March 1997. A few months later, Bagby was named to his first head position as video coordinator for the University of Louisville football team and, subsequently, moved on to Clemson in May 1998.

The SVG College Sports Summit Pioneer Award is selected by a panel of past Pioneer Award honorees, current and former SVG College Sports Summit chairmen, SVG staffers, and senior members of the SVG College Advisory Committee.

SVG College Sports Summit Pioneer Award Honorees:
2018: Rick Bagby, Clemson University
2017: Chris Taylor, Ball State University
2016: Jim Nachtman, Pennsylvania State University
2015: John Kvatek, University of Central Florida
2015: Jeff Schmahl, Texas A&M University, University of Nebraska
2014: Rick Church, Michigan State University
2013: Mark Rodin, Florida State University
2012: Ken Norris, University of California, Los Angeles

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters