AES Announces Results of 2019 Elections and Bylaws Initiative

New York, NY, July 24, 2019 — The Audio Engineering Society has announced the incoming Officers and Governors following the 2019 Board of Governors elections, with terms beginning January 1, 2020. The Society’s membership has elected Jonathan Wyner as President-Elect and re-elected Richard Wollrich as Treasurer. Additionally, Thomas Görne has been re-elected as Vice President Central Region, Europe; Cesar Lamschtein has been re-elected as Vice President Latin America Region; Shusen Wang has been re-elected as Vice President Asia-Pacific Region; Ian Corbett will join the Board of Governors as Vice President Central Region, USA/Canada; and Alberto Pinto will join the Board as Vice President Southern Europe/Middle East/Africa Region. Newly elected Governors are Brecht De Man, Valeria Palomino and Magdalena Piotrowska. Save for the President-Elect, each newly-elected individual will serve a two-year term, while those re-elected will have their current term of office extended for two years. Wyner will serve a year as President-Elect, in 2021 as President, in 2022 as Past-President and two-years as a Governor.

Outgoing from the Board of Governors as regional Vice Presidents are Ufuk Önen (Southern Europe/Middle East/Africa Region) and Mike Porter (Central Region, USA/Canada). Governors with terms ending at the end of 2019 are Martha de Francisco, Kyle P. Snyder and, as he assumes the position of President-Elect, Jonathan Wyner. Additionally, Governor (and Past President, twice removed) John Krivit will complete his five-year commitment to the BoG, while Current Past President David Scheirman will transition to Governor for the first year of a two-year term.

“The Society owes a debt of gratitude to all those who have served on the Board of Governors,” says AES President Nadja Wallaszkovits, “as well as those continuing to serve. We also sincerely appreciate the entire slate of outstanding candidates on the 2019 ballot for their commitment to the AES, and we congratulate our newly-elected Governors and Directors. I look forward to their contributions as we work together in the coming year.”

Per the AES bylaws amendment passed in the 2019 elections, the Society’s governing structure will be revised to conform to legal requirements, effective in August of 2019. A newly formed Board of Directors (BoD), the governing body of the Society, will consist of the Society’s Member-elected officers plus two Directors to be elected by the Board of Governors (BoG). Those eligible to become BoG-elected Directors must be either a current or recent member of the BoG. The Board of Governors (BoG) will retain many of its current responsibilities and will continue to be composed of the Regional Vice Presidents and Governors-at-large, along with the members of the BoD. The responsibilities currently held by the Executive Committee of the BoG, which will cease to exist, will be filled primarily by the BoD.

The election was monitored, and the results presented, by Gary Louie, Chair of the AES’s Tellers Committee.

For more information on the Audio Engineering Society, please visit

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters