AES New York 2019 Awards Ceremony Recognizes Industry Achievements and Contributions to the Audio Engineering Society

The opening ceremonies of the 147th Audio Engineering Society Convention took place on Wednesday, October 16, at the Javits Center in New York, featuring the presentation of this year’s AES Awards, along with welcoming remarks from AES President Nadja Wallaszkovits and AES New York Convention committee members Agniezska Roginska, Valerie Tyler and Jonathan Wyner. Awards were presented by Alex Case, AES Awards Committee Chair.

The awards presented include the following:

The Silver Medal Award, given in recognition of outstanding development or achievement in the field of audio engineering. This year’s recipients are:

  • Marina Bosi, in recognition of outstanding achievements in the development and standardization of audio and video coding and of secure digital rights management.
  • Louis D. Fielder, for extraordinary contributions to the field of perceptual audio coding, and years of service to the Audio Engineering Society.

The Board of Governors Award, given for outstanding contributions to the Audio Engineering Society, has been presented to:

  • Gavin Kearney, in recognition of co-chairing the 2019 AES International Conference on Immersive and Interactive Audio.
  • Mariana Lopez, in recognition of co-chairing the 146th AES Convention in Dublin.
  • Michael Santucci, in recognition of co-chairing the 2018 International AES Conference on Hearing Disorders.
  • Jim Starzynski, for outstanding leadership and contributions to the AES Audio Guidelines for Over the Top Television and Video Streaming Technical Group within the Broadcast and Online Delivery Technical Committee.
  • Jonathan Wyner, in recognition of co-chairing the 145th AES Convention in New York.

The Fellowship Award, given to a member who has rendered conspicuous service, or is recognized to have made a valuable contribution to the advancement in or dissemination of knowledge of audio engineering or in the promotion of its application in practice, has been presented to:

  • Anthony Agnello, for the continuous invention of influential disruptive audio technologies.
  • Martha de Francisco, for conspicuous commitment to audio education and mentorship and support of the Audio Engineering Society.
  • Michael Kelly, for significant contributions to the Society’s leadership in Game Audio.
  • John Krivit, for conspicuous commitment to audio student education and mentorship.
  • Jan Abildgaard Pedersen, for advancements in the field of loudspeaker design and for his substantial contributions to the Audio Engineering Society.
  • Josh Reiss, for valuable contributions to, and for encouraging and guiding the next generation of researchers in, the development of audio and musical signal processing.
  • Takehiro Sugimoto, in recognition of his diverse contributions to the development and standardization of 22.2 multichannel sound broadcasting systems.
  • Terri Winston, for providing training, resources, and leadership, greatly expanding the participation of young girls and women in the field of audio engineering.

The Citation Award, given in recognition of services to the Society or industry accomplishments by non-members, has been presented to:

  • Pat Parker, for over 40 years of invaluable contributions to Audio Engineering Society conventions. 

The Honorary Member designation, given to persons of outstanding repute and eminence in the science of audio engineering or its allied arts, has been given to:

  • Grandmaster Flashfor pioneering revolutionary and influential implementations of audio and music technologies for performance.

The Distinguished Service Medal Award, given in recognition of extraordinary service, has been presented to:

  • Garry Margolis, in recognition of more than 20 years of dedicated service to the Society as a Section Officer, Governor, Treasurer and President.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters