WSC Sports Snags Tech Emmy for ‘AI-ML Curation of Highlights’

The company’s platform automatically generates, distributes customized highlights in real time

WSC Sports was one of the winners of the AI-ML curation of Sports Highlights award at the 74th Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards in Las Vegas during NAB 2023.

“We’re proud to be recognized for such a prestigious award,” says WSC Sports, co-founder/CEO Daniel Shichman.“Being honored with a Tech Emmy is recognition of the highest order and proof that we are making a positive impact in the way the biggest sports properties generate content and ultimately deliver a much better viewing experience for sports fans around the world.”

WSC Sports’ Aviv Arnon celebrates the company’s honor.

WSC Sports co-founder/Chief Business Development Officer Aviv Arnon accepted the award at the ceremony.

The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards are given for developments in engineering technologies that either represent so extensive an improvement on existing methods or are so innovative in nature that they materially have affected television.

Other winners in the AI-ML curation of Sports Highlights category were Comcast, YouTube TV, and IBM.

Other winners in the AI-ML curation of Sports Highlights category were Comcast, YouTube TV, and IBM.

A committee of highly qualified engineers working in television considers technical developments in the industry and determines which, if any, merit an award.

WSC Sports developed an AI-powered platform that enables sports-media rightsholders to generate and distribute customized video highlights automatically and in real time. Content teams from the NBA, ESPN, NHL, DAZN, and more than 300 others use the platform to generate any type of customized video, suitable for each platform, without the need for extensive manual work. This caters to the desires of modern sports fans, who want to consume more content with greater levels of personalization on a variety of platforms in as close to real time as possible.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949,” says Adam Sharp, CEO and president, NATAS. “It laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come. We are extremely happy about honoring these prestigious individuals and companies, again in partnership with NAB, where the intersection of innovation, technology, and excitement in the future of television can be found.”

Adds Joe Inzerillo, co-chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee, “This latest class of technology Emmy Award honorees are in keeping with the tradition, innovation, and impact that these innovations have had over the last 74 years.”

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters