2023 Sports Emmys: ESPN’s Phil Dean, Jimmy Platt on Enhancing Monday Night Football With the Addition of Joe Buck, Troy Aikman

New-look broadcast booth earns the network the Sports Emmy for Outstanding Live Series

After numerous years together at Fox Sports, the broadcast duo of play-by-play commentator Joe Buck and analyst Troy Aikman made the jump to ESPN to join the team with Monday Night Football. Their remarkable debut season led them to winning the 2023 Sports Emmy for Outstanding Live Series.

At the ceremony, the front bench of ESPN’s 2022-23 Monday Night Football slate — Director Jimmy Platt and Producer Phil Dean — took some time to explain the positive impact of their new team in the booth and the individuals behind the scenes that make each week’s show a stunning success.

Executive Producers
Steve Ackels, Stephanie Druley, Julie McGlone, Jimmy Pitaro

Supervising Producer
Aimee Stokes

Phil Dean, Amanda Paschal

Feature Producer
Rico Labbe

Field Producer
Eric Lundsten

Replay Producer
Kyle Brown

Jimmy Platt

Associate Producers
Brian Arnold, Brandon Barrad, Jodi Brits, Kaila Burns-Heffner, Tyler Churchill, Lauren Collins, Colleen Douglass, Joe Durante, Bill Garrity, Tony Granieri, Johnny Gutierrez, Ryan Hoff, Steve Horn, Curt Johnson, Martin Khodabakhshian, Steven Kim, Jess Kraus, Audra Leimberg, Trey Liburd, Michael Logan, David Moulton, John Parolin, Olivia Powers, Jason Rickel, Melany Rivera, Jacob Roen, Bryan Rourke, Lou Russo, Jeff Sarokin, Ed Sfida, Richard Shafter, Sammy Silver, Steven Stetz

Operations Producers
Steven Carter, Dustin Epstein, Kelsey Hahn, Matthew Kwok, Samantha Majewski, James Munn, Joe Rainey, Jayne Weathersby, Kevin Wendling
Associate Director
Madeline Kassell

Todd Anderson, Dan Kocse, Diego Martini, Mark Maynard, Melvin Royster, Natacha Trisri
Stage Manager
Jacqueline Jamison

For more of SVG’s coverage of the 2023 Sports Emmys, visit SVG’s YouTube channel. For more, video interviews, and podcasts with experts from across the sports video production industry, visit SVG On Demand and SVG PLAY.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters