2023 Sports Emmys: Riot Games’ Dave Stewart on Increasing the Popularity of Esports With the League of Legends World Championship

The esports giant won the Sports Emmy for Outstanding Esports Championship Coverage

One of the biggest esports production of the year, the League of Legends World Championship, leveraged a full remote production for previous stages in Mexico City, New York City, and Atlanta. The finals, which featured T1 and DRX, culminated in Chase Center in November 2022. Despite the complex operation, Riot Games produced a stellar event, and it translated into winning the 2023 Sports Emmy for Outstanding Esports Championship Coverage.

At the ceremony, Riot Games’ Vice President, Esports Content Services, Dave Stewart, recounts the team’s effort throughout North America and the recognition that the sport is receiving on a massive scale.

Those credited on the project included:

Executive Producers
Naz Aletaha, Carrie Dunn, John Needham, Dirk Niestadtkötter, Stefan Richardson, Whalen Rozelle, Dave Stewart, Nick Troop

Senior Coordinating Producer
Ben Vignola

Coordinating Producers
Nicole Constantine, William Möller, Randall Quick, Kim Van Norman

Senior Producer
Juliet Reason

Supervising Producers
Zeus Ayter, Eamon Frasher

Chris Anderson, Kerry Brown, Ryan Chung, Graham Dunn, Gary Hebert, Lisa Renkel, Anna Robinson

Videotape Producers
Eunice Chen, Denise Kuan, Manuel Sanchez, Bas Van Olsten

Senior Feature Producers
Nick Brown, Josh Frackleton, Cristian Smeu

Feature Producers
Minh Bui, Patrick Cho, Phil Choi, Daniel Collette, Tyler Erzberger, Willow Forde Garrett Fulwider, Adam Hemmert, Oliver Kemp, Bart Wigger

Field Producer
Alex Pilaski

Senior Coordinating Director
Marc Hilko

Nhat Nguyen

Senior Associate Producer
Anthony Rogers

Associate Producers
George Ahlmeyer, Even Borg Rodahl, Paul Boyd, Matt Dickey, Dennis Fink, Katherine Gripne, John Heilmann, Marcus Jacob, Matt Mersel, Kelsey Moser, Brienne Oliver, Kelsy Salazar, Ali Say

Operations Producers
Michael Alchermes, Michael Caal, Carlos Castillo, Bruno Condez, Jon Daly, Cem Dilektasli, Matt Donovan, Vicente Jimenez, Kris Johnson, Anthony Lee, Seth Lloyd, Monique Molina Paterra, Peter Quain, Clark Stewart, David Talavera, Maxwell Trauss, Stephanie Ura

Associate Directors
Reah Chu, Nick Oliver, Liah Starmann, Cortlan Vitz

Benjamin Bae, Denniz Ekin Polat, Stefan Minu, Feliksa Pham

World Feed Executive Producer
Samuel Kordower Chaimson

World Feed Producers
Brett Bielling, Jannik Fischer, Eva Mortensen, Martin Szarnas, Michael Ullman

World Feed Director
Charles Anderson

Stage Managers
Marc Baker, Billy Drummed

For more of SVG’s coverage of the 2023 Sports Emmys, visit SVG’s YouTube channel. For more, video interviews, and podcasts with experts from across the sports video production industry, visit SVG On Demand and SVG PLAY.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters