Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia Recognized with Two Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia was awarded two 2013 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for “Almost Answered,” which documents the drive and determination of the 2001 Philadelphia 76ers, and “Keeper of the Dream,” which tells the tale of how basketball legend George Raveling ended up with the copy of Martin Luther King’s “I Have A Dream” speech.

Since 2011, Comcast SportsNet has been awarded five Murrow Awards, including last year’s national award for “Remembering Richie,” an inspiring story on a Philadelphia-area native who lost his life on September 11, 2001.

The regional winners are automatically entered in the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged during the summer. National awards will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on Columbus Day.

“I am incredibly proud of our staff’s hard work and dedication, said Michelle Murray, VP, News Programming, Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia.  “To be recognized by our colleagues with a Murrow award for the fifth time in three years is a great honor and a tribute to the incredibly talented people in our newsroom.”

“Almost Answered” is the story of the Philadelphia 76ers that lost to the Los Angeles Lakers in the 2001 NBA Finals. Led by the league’s most controversial star — NBA MVP Allen Iverson – and coached by the legendary Larry Brown, the 76ers cobbled together a journey basketball fans will never forget. “Almost Answered” features interviews, highlights and unbelievable archival footage shining a well-deserved spotlight on this memorable bunch.

The “Keeper of the Dream” story weaves some unexpected turns which wind up with George Raveling, at the time a local All American Basketball player, who went to college at Villanova, possessing what might be the most quotable speech of the 20th Century, Dr. Martin Luther King’s “I Have A Dream” speech. Raveling tells us how he found himself just feet from Dr. King during the speech, how Dr. King gave him the speech and why, to this day, not many people can actually view the three simple pages that contain the words millions have been inspired by.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters