MLBAM, J2K Innovators Among Tech & Engineering Emmy Award Recepients

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) will present the 66th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards tonight during CES at the The Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas.

“The NationalAcademy’s Technology and Engineering Achievement Committee is pleased to honor these technology companies and individuals whose innovation and vision have materially affected the way the audience views television and have set the standard for technological excellence in the industry,” said committee Chairman, Robert P. Seidel, Vice President of CBS Engineering and Advanced Technology and Chairman, Engineering Achievement Committee, NATAS.

The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event include:

Pioneering Development of 2nd Screen Navigable Mosaic for Direct Programmer Offerings to Consumers via the Internet

  • • HomeBoxOffice (HBO)
  • • Netflix

Development of Low Latency Video Streaming Live Captioning Systems

  • • EEG
  • • Xorbit

Television Enhancement Devices

  • • Apple
  • • Roku
  • • Microsoft
  • • Sony
  • • Tivo

Non-Live Large Scale Online Video Systems

  • • Netflix

Personalized Recommendation Engines for Video Discovery (PREVD) for MVPD’s

  • • Jinni
  • • Think Analytics
  • • Digital Smiths
  • • Comcast

Standardization and Productization of JPEG2000 (J2K) Interoperability

  • • Video Services Forum Inc.
  • • Media Links
  • • Nevion
  • • DVBlink, Inc.
  • • Harris Broadcast Corporation (Imagine Communications)
  • • Ericsson
  • • Artel Video Systems Inc.
  • • Barco–‐Silex
  • • IntoPix

Innovation in Improving Engagement Around Television in Social media

  • • Twitter
  • • Spreadfast (formerly Mass Relevance)

Secure Accelerated File Movement over IP including the Internet

  • • Aspera Inc. an IBMCompany
  • • DataExpedition Inc.
  • • Signiant
  • • Unlimitech

Pioneering Delivery of Pay TV Linear Video to Consumer Owned and Managed Devices Over a High Speed Data Connection

  • • Major League Baseball Advanced Media
  • • Time Warner Cable
  • • NBC Universal


Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters