Behind the Mic: Devin McCourty to Join “Football Night in America”; Brian Burke and Dallas Eakins to Join NHL Network

Behind the Mic provides a roundup of recent news regarding on-air talent, including new deals, departures, and assignments compiled from press releases and reports around the industry. In this week’s edition, Devin McCourty joins NBC Sports’ “Football Night in America”; Brian Burke & Dallas Eakins to join NHL Network as guest analysts.

Devin McCourty Joins NBC Sports’ Football Night in America

Three-time Super Bowl champion Devin McCourty is joining Football Night in America as an analyst, NBC Sports announces. Football Night is the most-watched studio show in sports, preceding primetime television’s No. 1 show Sunday Night Football each week during the NFL season on NBC and Peacock.

McCourty spent his entire career as a member of the New England Patriots, playing 13 seasons as a defensive back and helping the team win Super Bowls XLIX, LI and LIII. McCourty earned All-Pro honors three times and was a two-time Pro Bowler. He owns the NFL record for most career playoff games started by a defensive player (24). New England selected McCourty with the 27th overall pick in the 2010 NFL Draft out of Rutgers University.

McCourty broke into the broadcasting world with “Double Coverage,” a podcast he co-hosted with twin brother Jason McCourty from 2018 to 2020 when they were both members of the Patriots. He also has contributed to NFL Draft and pre-game coverage for CBS Sports and was a guest host on NFL Network’s Good Morning Football earlier this year.

“It’s rare when you have the opportunity to add a three-time Super Bowl-winner to your team, and we’re excited to welcome Devin McCourty to Football Night following an incredible NFL career,” says Sam Flood, Executive Producer and President, Production, NBC Sports. “Devin is a leader in every sense of the word, both on and off the field, and his dynamic personality and passion for the game will be a great addition to the show.”

“I’m excited to be a rookie on the best team in America again,” says McCourty. “I’m very grateful for this opportunity from NBC Sports to learn from great individuals, chase new goals and provide viewers with my thoughts on the biggest games every week.”

Football Night begins at 7 p.m. ET each week during the NFL regular season on NBC and Peacock and provides highlights and analysis of the afternoon games, interviews with high-profile players and coaches, breaking news insights, and an extensive preview of that night’s Sunday Night Football matchup.

Last season, Football Night averaged 7.24 million viewers from 7:30-8:15 p.m. ET, continuing its reign as sports’ most-watched weekly studio show for the 17th consecutive year (since the show’s 2006 debut season).

Stanley Cup Winning Executive Brian Burke and Former Head Coach Dallas Eakins Join NHL Network as Guest Analysts

NHL Network announces that Stanley Cup-winning executive Brian Burke and former Anaheim Ducks and Edmonton Oilers head coach Dallas Eakins will join as guest analysts for the remainder of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Burke will make his debut Wednesday, May 24 on NHL Tonight live at 6:00 p.m. ET alongside host Erika Wachter and analyst Devan Dubnyk. Burke will also appear on NHL Tonight this Thursday, May 25 with Bill Pidto and Stu Grimson at 6:00 p.m. ET. Eakins will join Tony Luftman and Grimson for his NHL Tonight debut on Friday, May 26 live at 6:00 p.m. ET, before appearing on NHL Tonight at 11:00 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 27 and Sunday, May 28, and during segments of NHL Now on Monday, May 29 beginning at 5:00 p.m. ET. NHL Network’s NHL Now and NHL Tonight continues to provide wall-to-wall coverage before and after every Stanley Cup Playoff game.

“Our fans expect to hear from people who have the experience and knowledge to teach them about the game during hockey’s biggest moments,” says Josh Bernstein, NHL Network Vice President of Production. “Brian and Dallas fit those criteria perfectly, and will do nothing but enhance our content as we head towards the Stanley Cup Final. We’re thrilled to have them on board.”

Burke brings more than 30 years’ experience in the NHL to his new NHL Network role, most recently serving as the Pittsburgh Penguins president of hockey operations the last two years. As general manager, Burke’s Anaheim Ducks won the 2007 Stanley Cup against the Ottawa Senators in five games. A two-time Sporting News NHL Executive of the Year, Burke has served as the general manager for the Vancouver Canucks, Toronto Maple Leafs and Calgary Flames. Prior to joining team executive offices, Burke was the executive vice president and director of hockey operations at the NHL, serving as the league’s chief disciplinarian, after he served as the general manager of the Hartford Whalers and the director of hockey operations for the Canucks to begin his front office career.

Eakins joins as a guest analyst following his time as head coach of the Ducks (2019-2023) and Oilers (2013-2015), where he collected 136 career wins across six seasons and coached notable players Cam Fowler, Ryan Getzlaf, Troy Terry and Trevor Zegras. Prior to serving behind an NHL bench, Eakins was the head coach of the Toronto Marlies, representing the Western Conference in two AHL All-Star Games, after beginning his coaching career as the Marlies assistant coach. Eakins was drafted in the 10th round with the 208th overall pick by the Washington Capitals in 1985 NHL Entry Draft, eventually becoming the second Floridan to play in the NHL, the first to record a point, and the first player born in Florida to play for the Florida Panthers.

Burke and Eakins join analysts Bruce Boudreau, Brian Boyle, Sam Cosentino, Ken Daneyko, Devan Dubnyk, Tony Granato, Stu Grimson, Scott Hartnell, Thomas Hickey, E.J. Hradek, Billy Jaffe, Mike Johnson, Bill Lindsay, Mark Parrish, and Mike Rupp contributing to NHL Network’s coverage, alongside hosts Jamison Coyle, Jamie Hersch, Tony Luftman, Bill Pidto, Jackie Redmond, and Erika Wachter.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters